Diary of a lonesome

The winds rustled through the canopies making its way to my little room. It’s been quite sometime that I’m alone, all to myself, engaged in work or submerged in books. Normally I prefer to be busy; however today I feel a little different. I neither wanted to work nor desired to read. I consoled myself with “It’s one of those days” thing, however, deep within I knew it wasn’t. I let the wind touch my face, closing my eyes to let it touch deeper.

It occurred to me then that I had barely touched my coffee which had gone cold by then. I lifted the coffee mug and took a sip of the cold coffee which tasted awful. I lay at ease with myself and let the stillness of the room devour me.

It was when Rachna Didi knocked at the door that I got startled. I woke up immediately realising how badly I slept off. “Aaj khane me kya banau didi?”, Rachna Didi threw her usual question to me. “2 roti aur ek sabji”, I replied meekly. Rachna Didi has been working at ours for a year now. She is familiar with every nook and corner of the house. Needless to say, her delectable food always keeps me going . It’s been two weeks since Reeyan left to Delhi for work and I am all alone in the house. The day passes off smoothly, all thanks to my job. However, the evenings and the nights seem to mock at me. It’s as if they stare at me, their mouths agape with incredulity. I stare at them even harder, defying them.

Reeyan and I have been married for a year now, and this is the first time that we are apart. Choosing to marry him was my best decision. Ours is an arranged marriage; we walked through all the typical stages of it and came out full of love and yearing for each other. In Reeyan, I found my soulmate. Now that I’m alone in the house away from him, I ponder over our past year as a married couple. It all feels like yesterday. I closed my eyes in anticipation of just another day; hoping for my loved one to amaze me with his stance.

Published by chosenwords

An ESL teacher by profession. Highly into creative writing.

Leave a comment